Original and Delicious: Banana-Honey-Almond Oatmeal!

Tuesday is generally my exercise-class day. Each Tuesday at 9:15 begins my mini vacation; for an hour I get to indulge in some sweat-inducing hard cardio and strength training, usually (hopefully) to an awesome soundtrack (recently the teacher has been very into Michael Jackson, specifically “Thriller-”, not the best for working out, but anyway…).

What lasts for much more than an hour is the hunger I experience following intense exercise. The hunger is never immediate, but creeps up on me beginning a few hours after the class, and tends to rear its carb-loading head all that night and the next day. Well this past Tuesday I decided to nip that monster in the bud and actually give myself a filling and nutritious lunch. And so began my fight to fend off what would otherwise be the inevitable hunger of the following day and a half.

I looked around the kitchen, in the mood for carbs, knowing I should have some protein, and seeing a banana that was calling my name, and I was inspired- time for some OATMEAL! I proceeded to make the most delicious oatmeal I have ever had (minus the oatmeal at Village Green in Jerusalem- their oatmeal is damn good).

Image

The finished product- check out all of those delicious components!

I call this my fiber, healthy-fat filled, delicious banana-honey oatmeal.

Ingredients:

½ cup quick cooking oatmeal

½ cup water + ½ cup milk (I used skim. I would imagine that the delicious-ness of the oatmeal probably increases exponentionally with each increased fat-percentage of milk)

Cinnamon- to taste

Prunes and/or raisins- to taste

One banana

Honey- to taste

Slivered almonds- to taste

All bran- to taste (but I swear you won’t taste it. Its magic fiber will blend tastelessly into your oatmeal. Woohoo!)

–>Follow the directions on the oatmeal and bring the milk, water, cinnamon, and half of your banana and a few raisins/cut up prunes to a boil in a small sauce pan. Cook until oatmeal is ready. (Adding the fruit at this point helps infuse the oatmeal with its sweet flavor!)

–>Then add in honey to your liking, and cut up the rest of the banana into the oatmeal. NOW HERE IS THE SECRET- To get the creamiest, most banana-delicious oatmeal ever, microwave your bowl of oatmeal with the banana on top for approximately 40 seconds. This will break the banana down and enable you to mix it into your oatmeal for a creamy and delicious consistency.

–>After microwaving, add almonds and all-bran if desired, and eat up!

All-Bran and Raisins!

All-Bran and Raisins!

With almonds and a drizzle of honey! (The banana, raisins, and All-bran are hidden underneath!)

With almonds and a drizzle of honey! (The banana, raisins, and All-bran are hidden underneath!)

Enjoy, and don’t forget to thank yourself for a delicious and healthy meal that will keep you full for hours!

About elianna119

Kosher Home Cookin'!
This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Original and Delicious: Banana-Honey-Almond Oatmeal!

  1. LBay says:

    looks really good! I can’t wait to try it!

Let me know what you think!

