“Courabiet”- My mother-in-law’s most delicious nut cookies! (Melt in your mouth- I swear)

Hi Ema! And hello melt-in-your-mouth-nutty goodness!

Image

These cookies, which I tried a month or so while at my in-laws for the weekend, were unlike any cookie I had ever tried! My mother-in-law tells me that they are nut cookies with Greek/Turkish origins (a nod to her Greek ancestry), whose addition of peanut-butter is a wonderful American adaptation. Doing some research, I found them defined as a Greek celebratory cookie. They do not have the overly sweet, buttery consistency of most nut cookies- I would say that they are the mature version of the cookie- not too sweet, with the perfect smooth consistency that melts in your mouth (not in your hand)- the cookie all other cookies should aspire to be.

The ingredients are simple and do not include any butter, margarine, or eggs (if you choose to omit glazing the top with an egg wash) and they are so incredibly easy to eat (wow, I actually wrote eat, meant to write make. Shows you where my head is…). Yes- they are full of fat- but being that it comes from walnuts and peanuts as opposed to butter, it seems that these cookies have no downside!

These are the instructions, thanks to my ma-in-law:

COURABIET:

3/8 C chopped walnuts
1 C peanut butter (I use natural unsweetened)
1 C sugar
1/2 C oil (I use safflower)
2 1/4 C flour

Shape into rounds about the size of a walnut.  They will flatten a little during baking. (If batter is too crumbly so that they won’t hold together when you try to shape them, add about 1 T soymilk or water.) Brush with 1 egg, beaten to give them a little sheen.
Bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes until lightly browned.  As with all cookies, best not to overbake.

–>I did not have unsweetened peanut butter when I made the cookies, so I used regular peanut butter and reduced the added sugar to half-a-cup. Additionally, I used vegetable oil.

I made the Courabiet when we were at my parents this past weekend, and they pleased everyone; My parents who dislike overly sweet desserts, my husband who loves sweet desserts, my brother, who will only eat peanut butter desserts, and not gonna lie, I also think they were pretty darn good. But I attribute that to the easy recipe. Woohoooo!

Try them and let me know what you think!

About elianna119

Kosher Home Cookin'!
This entry was posted in Dessert! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Courabiet”- My mother-in-law’s most delicious nut cookies! (Melt in your mouth- I swear)

  1. elianna119 says:

    Thanks so much for the comment! I would love your husband’s famiy’s recipe!

  2. Adriana says:

    My husband’s Turkish family make these cookies (they called them Kurabiye) and they are my absolute favourite cookies to eat. They remind me of a shortbread but because they are usually small you don’t have to eat one, you can eat 10. They make them traditionally with butter, but I’d like to make this version of the cookies for them to try and see what they think! Thanks for a great post!

Let me know what you think!

