Tuna Burgers! Out of this world- go on, try them!

Tonight was one of those nights when I was in the mood to cook, in the mood to eat, and had time for both. I was in the mood for the kind of thing my parents would serve- a full meal with a protein, a carb, and a veggie. Since being married, weeknight meals tend to be of the one bowl variety- soup, chili, salad, not so much the more rounded, 3 dish meal.

When I graduated college last year, I had a large sum of money left on my cafeteria-card, and I spent around 70 dollars buying cans of tuna. What have become ubiquitous cans of tuna still abound in our pantry, along with the stores of kashi cereal that I hope will never run out. Early on in our marriage I had made tuna-burgers that had come out awfully since I had never learned that when you substitute dried herbs for fresh herbs, you must half the amount- rookie mistake. As usual my husband ate them, while I found something else to eat. But underneath the overwhelming tastes of garlic and parsley, I suspected I had found a gem. About 5 months later I have finally tried the recipe again, and tonight, with some variations to the original recipe, I have made my perfect tuna burger (I say my, because I can’t objectively state they’re perfect. I would consider entering them in a tuna burger contest though, if anything that absurd exists). I served the tuna burgers tonight with sauteed-onion-and-mushroom brown rice, and twice-baked pecan buttercup squash, and my only regret is that I’m too full to eat anymore!

For all of you burger lovers who are looking for something lighter, and tuna sandwich lovers who are looking for something more exciting- you’ve come to the right place.

TUNA BURGERS

(adapted from http://www.canyoustayfordinner.com/2011/03/25/lemon-garlic-tuna-burgers/)

Ingredients:

-two cans of albacore chunk light tuna, packed in water

-1/4 cup chopped yellow onion

-2 garlic cloves, minced

-1/2 cup breadcrumbs (use any kind you’d like. I mixed cornflake and panko)

-1-1.5 tablespoons lemon juice (if you like the lemony kick, use more)

-3 tablespoons of non-fat, plain greek yogurt (Indeed, these burgers pack a protein punch)

-1 heaping tablespoon of dried parsley

-1/4 teaspoon each of salt and pepper

-1 egg

-dried parmesan cheese (optional)

photo 1

–>Preheat oven to 400 degrees. thoroughly mix all of the ingredients together and form into 4 patties. Place on a greased tray and place in the oven for 15-20 minutes, depending on how crispy you want them.

photo 2

-While I served with rice and squash, the burgers would also be delicious as an actual burger, with bun and tomato and the works! This is truly an inexpensive, delicious dinner for the tuna lovers out there who are sick of the usual cold tuna salad! Enjoy!

photo 4

Tastes better than it looks- money back guarantee.

About elianna119

Kosher Home Cookin'!
Aside | This entry was posted in Dinner Tonight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think!

