Pumpkin Kugel/Pie (Your Choice)!

Pumpkin!

Image

Pumpkin always seemed to me like a fake vegetable used only in Halloween decorations- funnily enough it turned out to be a wondeful addition to my Shabbat repetoire. The vorlage (shout out to my dead sea scrolls class, the paper of which I should be working on at this moment) of this recipe appears at http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/pumpkin_coconut_tart.html, but my version is a bit healthier, with more common ingredients:

PUMPKIN KUGEL:

Ingredients:

-2 cans pumpkin puree

-1/2 cup sugar

-2 tablespoons dark rum

-1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

-1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

-3 eggs

-3/4 cup orange juice

-hanful of chopped pecans/walnuts and grape nuts for the topping (optional)

–>Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, mix all ingredients well, and put in a greased pie pan, and bake for 50 minutes.

PUMPKIN PIE:

–>Add an additional 1/4 cup of sugar, and place the filling in a prepared pie dish!

This recipe is delicious, and a nice alternative to the usual sweet potato or butternut squash pie (though it does not beat my friend dani’s butternut squash kugel recipe, which I will hopefully write up soon!)ImageImage

About elianna119

Kosher Home Cookin'!
This entry was posted in Dessert!, Side Dishes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pumpkin Kugel/Pie (Your Choice)!

  1. Eileenshmidman says:

    I did comment but dont know if you got it

    so, I have a pumpkin bread recipe from my daughter that we all love your recipe sounds lovely, this one is actually more like a cake. If you are interested let me know I very much enjoy reading your blog, you write interestingly and beautifully

  2. Morris Dweck says:

    When are you going to get some sephardic inspiration into these dishes, and how come I am not getting to taste any of these dishes?

    • elianna119 says:

      HHHHeyyy! I believe that that is because you guys haven’t come to the heights for shabbos yet…we’re waiting… bt in all seriousness I was born with the wrong ancestry and love sphardi food! any good recipes?? Send over some lachmajeen!

Let me know what you think!

