Dessert Fave- Strawberry Rhubarb CRUMBLE!

My parents spent Shabbos in the Heights with us for the first time this past weekend, and though they are the last people I need to impress, I was so excited to spend my free time cooking up a storm. In addition to my parents, my brother and his girlfriend came for Friday night dinner, and our cousins and a bunch of friends came for Shabbos lunch, and it was my first time doing all of the cooking for both meals (of course everyone offered to bring something, and while I usually jump at the offer, I had some extra time and was chalishing (yiddush for dying to)to cook.

photo 5 (1)

This week I am going to post some of the recipes I made for Shabbos- the good ones at least. I made a mix of new recipes as well as recipes that have become old friends and I was pretty happy for the most part. Just wish we had more leftovers.

I am going to start with desserts. A few months ago we had been at a Shabbos lunch meal and a girl had made Strawberry-Rhubarb Crumble. If anyone has every had the Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie from My Most Favorite, then you know just how delicious the combo can be. Get this- the crumble was better. I got the recipe from her and finally made it for Shabbos lunch dessert. Blissful, fruity, crumbly, heaven (and though am prone to exaggeration this was seriously yum).

The best part was the lemony quick, from lemon zest in the crumb topping and lemon juice in the fruit. Salivating.

Making the Crumble Topping- with lemon zest!

Making the Crumble Topping- with lemon zest!

Preparing the fruit filling

Preparing the fruit filling

The recipe comes from Smitten Kitchen and I am going to paste it here:

http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2007/05/crumbling-crisp-convictions/

–>Instead of butter I use margarine

–>Instead of fresh fruit, I used frozen fruit, and simply cooked the crumble a few minutes longer, until the top started to brown.

Closeup of the final product

Closeup of the final product

About elianna119

Kosher Home Cookin'!
This entry was posted in Dessert! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dessert Fave- Strawberry Rhubarb CRUMBLE!

  1. Mom says:

    The parents WERE impressed…VERY impressed!!! Everything was perfect. I want more!!!!!

  2. bgpoll@aol.com says:

    The parents were impressed!!!! Wow is all I can say!!! Every dish was perfect. I want more!!!!

Let me know what you think!

