Roasted Tomato-Eggplant Soup w/ Chickpeas!

Don’t get me wrong, I love the traditional chicken soup with matzoh balls on Friday night, but every so often it’s fun to switch it up and do a different kind of soup or appetizer to begin your Shabbos meal.

photo 5 (4)

As I have mentioned in previous posts, I tend to hoard recipes in my bookmarked files on my computer, and like the German Apple Cake I had had this recipe saved on my computer for months, never quite in the mood to make it, until one Friday night a few weeks ago. This recipe is not only delicious and wonderfully healthy, but would make a perfect weeknight meal with some added brown rice (which I did with the leftovers). WARNING- If you don’t like lycopene and fresh produce, you will not enjoy this recipe.

The recipe for the soup is: http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/roasted_eggplant_and_tomato_soup/. I really have no idea how I originally came across this recipe, but come across it I did, and O am I glad I did. I happened to be in an eggplant mood the week I made this, and also made Moussaka from Kosher By Design Entertains as well (which was delicious), but this soup is sufficient on its own to satisfy what I know must be everyone’s ubiquitous need for eggplant.

What is so great about the recipe is that it is completely made from scratch with lots of veggies. It does not even call for any vegetable or chicken stock. You start by roasting a bunch of plum tomatoes and garlic in one pan, with oil, salt and pepper, and cut up eggplant and chickpeas on another pan with curry, oil, salt and pepper.

Tomatoes ready to be roasted! Proto-broth

Tomatoes ready to be roasted! Proto-broth

You then immersion blend the tomatoes and garlic with some water and voila- your broth! You then simply pour in the eggplant pieces and chickpeas (which, btw, are delicious on their own after being roasted with curry), and there’s your soup!

Curried Eggplant and Chickpeas- Post Roasting. Yum!

Curried Eggplant and Chickpeas- Post Roasting. Yum!

One suggestion- cut up the eggplant into very small pieces before roasting, to make for a more polite mouthful of soup!

Enjoy!

Does anyone have any other “different” soups they like to make for Friday night?

About elianna119

Kosher Home Cookin'!
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Soup and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Roasted Tomato-Eggplant Soup w/ Chickpeas!

  1. Chai Shmidman says:

    I have a great lentil soup recipe,will send it to you if you want it,also a very simple and sophisticated parsnip soup

  2. Ellie says:

    If my husband would let me make another soup for Friday night I would love to try this. He doesn’t think it is Shabbat if there is no chicken soup :(. Though I did make potato leek soup last week that was delic.

  3. Mom says:

    I can personally vouch for its deliciousness (is there such a word??)! You may it seem like it’s not a potchka! That sounds good to me!!! I really did want another bowl but did not want to take away from your other guests!! So much better than the traditional boring chicken soup!

Let me know what you think!

